Previous

RedOps Training

If you know nothing, you have to believe everything

Whether on the red or blue team, both should regularly invest time and resources to train their team members. I personally devote significant time to research and education, offering a hands-on approach when training my students. While I specialize in offensive security, particularly in areas like Windows Internals, EDR Evasion, Malware Development, and debugging, I also make it a point to switch perspectives and delve into the defensive side to broaden my understanding.

DEF CON 31 Workshop

My passions include Windows Internals, malware development, antivirus (AV) and endpoint detection and response (EDR). If you want to get a first impression of my expertise and attention to detail, I invite you to have a look at the following workshop material, which I invested several months of my time in and presented as part of a one-day workshop entitled "(In)direct Syscalls: A journey from high to low" at the Red Team Village at DEF CON 31 in Las Vegas. The workshop materials for the DEF CON 31 workshop are completely free, and the entire workshop can be done independently in your own virtual LAB using the workshop materials. The technical workshop requirements can be found here.

Online Live Training: Endpoint Security Insights

I'm pleased to present my 4-day live online training, "Endpoint Security Insights: Shellcode Loaders and Evasion". The focus of this course is to learn more about the Windows Internals needed to better understand the functionality of EDRs on Windows and to gain a deeper understanding of the mechanisms they use on Windows. We will also build, debug and understand step-by-step a shellcode loader with various basic evasion capabilities such as unhooking, indirect syscalls, shellcode encryption, playing with metadata, etc. to evade EDR mechanisms such as user mode hooking, return address checking, etc. Students will also have the opportunity to test their loaders against an enterprise EPP/EDR.

In recent years, evading Endpoint Protection Products (EPPs) and Endpoint Detection and Response Products (EDRs) has become more difficult and is now a really important part of any Red Team engagement. Every EDR is different and has different strengths and weaknesses, and there is no silver bullet for EDR evasion. But at the very least, knowing the basics of EDR evasion and shellcode loader development is essential, even for juniors.

Over the past six years, I have gained a lot of experience in endpoint security evasion with many different products, and I want to share some of my knowledge in my "Endpoint Security Insights: Shellcode Loaders and Evasion" course. First, we will look at the basics of Windows Internals to better understand how EDRs work on Windows. Then we will take a closer look at EDR defence mechanisms such as user mode hooking and ETW, and then we will look at possible techniques such as unhooking, direct syscalls or indirect syscalls, playing with metadata, entropy etc. to get around these mechanisms or the EDR.

For more information, course details and to book tickets, please follow this link.

Why train with RedOps?

I devote a lot of time to training and research and love to delve into a subject. One of my great strengths is being able to prepare and communicate complex knowledge in a way that even a layperson can understand and apply. Anyone who knows me, reads my blog posts or follows my conference presentations knows that I have a soft spot for detail and that conveying knowledge in a simple and understandable way is my top priority. My aim is not to work quantitatively but to deliver high quality workshop content.

Responsibility Research Quality
  • Responsibility and Integrity

    Anyone who uses offensive security services and deliberately exposes themselves to an ethical hacking attack should do so with a partner they can absolutely trust. I keep all information strictly confidential and am 100% integer in what I do.

  • Research Orientation

    IT security is not a product, but a constant learning process. That's why I invest a lot of time in further education and research. I have already been able to present my results in the area of endpoint security at several international IT security conferences.

  • Quality Instead of Quantity

    With Offensive Security, I have made my passion my core competence. I don't sell products or licences, but live purely from my expertise in the field of IT security. For me, quality clearly comes before quantity.

Zurück

RedOps Training

Wer nichts weiß, muss alles glauben

Sowohl das rote als auch das blaue Team sollten regelmäßig Zeit und Ressourcen in die Ausbildung ihrer Teammitglieder investieren. Ich persönlich investiere viel Zeit in Forschung und Lehre und biete meinen Studenten einen praxisorientierten Ansatz. Ich bin zwar auf offensive Sicherheit spezialisiert, insbesondere auf Bereiche wie Windows Internals, EDR-Bypassing, Malware-Entwicklung und Debugging, aber ich wechsle auch immer wieder die Perspektive und beschäftige mich mit der defensiven Seite, um mein Wissen zu erweitern.

DEF CON 31 Workshop

Eines meiner Steckenpferde sind die Bereiche Windows Internals, Malware Development und Antivirus (AV) sowie Endpoint Detection and Response Systeme (EDR). Wer sich einen ersten Eindruck von meiner Expertise und Liebe zum Detail machen möchte, ist herzlich eingeladen, einen Blick in die folgenden Workshopunterlagen zu werfen, in die ich mehrere Monate an Zeit investiert und im Rahmen eines eintägigen Workshops mit dem Titel "(In)direct Syscalls: A journey from high to low" im Red Team Village auf der DEF CON 31 in Las Vegas vorgetragen habe. Die Workshop-Materialien für den DEF CON 31 Workshop sind völlig kostenlos und der gesamte Workshop kann mit Hilfe der Workshop-Materialien selbstständig im eigenen virtuellen LAB durchgeführt werden. Die technischen Workshopvoraussetzungen sind hier zu finden.

Online Live Training: Endpoint Security Insights

Ich freue mich, mein 4-tägiges Live-Online-Training "Endpoint Security Insights: Shellcode Loaders and Evasion" vorzustellen. Der Schwerpunkt dieses Kurses liegt darauf, mehr über die Windows Internals zu lernen, die notwendig sind, um besser zu verstehen, wie EDRs unter Windows funktionieren und welche Mechanismen sie unter Windows verwenden. Wir werden auch einen Shellcode-Loader erstellen, debuggen und Schritt für Schritt verstehen, der verschiedene grundlegende Umgehungstechniken wie Unhooking, indirekte Syscalls, Shellcode-Verschlüsselung, Spielen mit Metadaten usw. verwendet, um EDR-Mechanismen wie User Mode Hooking, Return Address Checking usw. zu umgehen. Die Teilnehmer werden auch die Möglichkeit haben, ihre Loader gegen ein Enterprise EPP/EDR zu testen.

Die Umgehung von Endpoint Protection-Produkten (EPPs) und Endpoint Detection and Response-Produkten (EDRs) ist in den letzten Jahren immer schwieriger geworden und zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil eines jeden Red Team-Einsatzes geworden. Jedes EDR ist anders, hat unterschiedliche Stärken und Schwächen und es gibt kein Patentrezept für die Umgehung von EDRs. Aber zumindest die Grundlagen des EDR-Evasion und der Entwicklung von Shellcode-Loadern sind wichtig, auch für Anfänger.

In den letzten sechs Jahren habe ich viel Erfahrung mit der Umgehung von Endpoint Security mit vielen verschiedenen Produkten gesammelt und möchte einen Teil meines Wissens in meinem Kurs "Endpoint Security Insights: Shellcode Loaders and Evasion" weitergeben. Zuerst werden wir uns die Grundlagen von Windows Internals anschauen, um besser zu verstehen, wie EDRs unter Windows funktionieren. Danach werden wir uns die Abwehrmechanismen von EDRs wie User Mode Hooking und ETW genauer anschauen, um dann mögliche Techniken wie Unhooking, direkte oder indirekte Syscalls, das Spielen mit Metadaten, Entropie, etc. zu betrachten, um diese Mechanismen oder EDRs zu umgehen.

Für weitere Informationen, Details zum Kurs und um Tickets zu buchen, folgen Sie bitte diesem Link.

Warum mit RedOps trainieren?

Ich investiere viel Zeit in Lehre und Forschung und liebe es, mich in ein Thema zu vertiefen. Eine meiner großen Stärken ist es, komplexes Wissen so aufzubereiten und zu vermitteln, dass es auch ein Laie verstehen und anwenden kann. Wer mich kennt, meine Blogbeiträge liest oder meine Konferenzvorträge verfolgt, weiß, dass ich ein Faible für Details habe und die einfache und verständliche Vermittlung von Wissen für mich an erster Stelle steht. Mein Ziel ist es nicht, quantitativ zu arbeiten, sondern qualitativ hochwertige Workshopinhalte zu liefern.

Responsibility Research Quality
  • Verantwortung und Integrität

    Wer Offensive Security Services in Anspruch nimmt und sich bewusst einem ethischen Hackerangriff aussetzt, sollte dies mit einem Partner tun, auf den er sich absolut verlassen kann. Ich behandle alle Informationen streng vertraulich und bin 100% integer in dem, was ich tue.

  • Forschungsorientierung

    IT-Security ist kein Produkt, sondern ein ständiger Lernprozess. Deshalb investiere ich viel Zeit in Weiterbildung und Forschung. Meine Ergebnisse im Bereich Endpoint Security konnte ich bereits auf mehreren internationalen IT-Security Konferenzen präsentieren.

  • Qualität statt Quantität

    Mit der Offensive Security habe ich meine Leidenschaft zu meiner Kernkompetenz gemacht. Ich verkaufe keine Produkte oder Lizenzen, sondern lebe rein von meiner Expertise im Bereich der IT-Security. Qualität geht bei mir klar vor Quantität.